The Saving Mom Parents


As You Wish…..

Posted in LIFE by The Saving Mom on August 2, 2011
Tags:

Dear Ones –

Today marks the 10 year point.  10 years since my bare feet floated down the red cement hurrying to join my life to his.  10 years since the hot summer day when I promised to love and cherish and was given this promise in return.

How do I sum up 10 years in one little blog post?  How do I tell him that I am more in love now than I was that day he gave me this ring I wear?  How do I express how grateful I am for his love, compassion, patience and faithfulness?  How do I tell him that even though I thought he was everything I dreamed for he is sooo much more than that?

Maybe I should tell you why he is so special.  Long before I ever even thought of him he used to sweep out the cafeteria at school so I didn’t have to on my clean-up day.  When I first fell in love with him it was because I saw him worship his Creator.  That was the number one thing on my list.  A man who would be totally committed to His God.  A man who would love me out of his understanding of the love of God.

    

He is the type of guy that rubs my feet after he’s had a really long day.  Even after he works hard he’ll come home and carry laundry all around the house so I don’t have to tote heavy baskets up and down stairs.  And now he’s got a new hook to keep me around…it’s the way he parents.  He loves his kids so much.  He loves to play with them all the rough and tumble things boys need that mom just does not want to do.  Of course, he also wants to teach them all those little boy things like using a magnifying glass to start a leaf on fire.  He longs for them to be free to experiment and discover all the amazing things God has created for them.  I guess I’ll just have to keep a close eye on what those boys are up to.

When we got married we didn’t realize how perfectly suited for each other we were.  We both felt that God had picked the other one out for us, but we didn’t realize the extent of what that could mean.  We had no idea that we’d be sci-fiers together.  We didn’t know that our dream together, would be to have our own sustainable farm.  We didn’t know how much we’d enjoy road-tripping together.  We thought life was good, but we didn’t know it would develop into GREAT.

Lately we’ve been watching The Cosby Show on Netflix.  Even though our parents are very different from each other in some episodes we see my parents and in some episodes we see his.  Last night the episode we watched we realized that we saw ourselves.  Now that was a good laugh.  It’s funny how the longer you’ve been married the more you can become like an old married couple.  And we are…an old married couple…an old happily married couple.  We really do delight in spending time with each other.  We really do want to be together almost all of the time, even after all this time.  He is my best friend and I am his.  Everyday just gets better and better.  This is not saying every moment is perfect, but they all work together for our good.  We learn, we grow, we delight in each other.

There is no one I would rather spend my moments with.  There is no one I would rather share my stories and secrets, successes and failures with.  This man of mine is pretty special and I never want to let him go.  I wish that I had the words to describe how special he really is.  I can only pray this prayer.

I thank You Lord for giving me a man better than I dreamed for.  I thank You Lord for connecting me to a person who I could grow with into all You dreamed us to be.  I thank You Lord for making this match that truly desires to honor You with all that we are.  I thank You Lord for teaching us that life isn’t all about rose petals and candles, but that sometimes it can be.  Lord, life is so good.  We are so blessed.  Thank You God.  Thanks a million.

Babe, I wouldn’t hesitate to do it all over again.  In fact, now that I know I would actually run down the aisle to get to you.  I promise again to love, honor, cherish and submit to you…and this time I sort of actually know what all that means.  I am so eager to see what God will bring us in the next ten years.  I am looking forward to the ups, the downs and everything in between just so long as we’re together.  For I have discovered, that life (with you) is the greatest adventure of all.

Oh, and Jordan…EeEeEeEeEeEeEeEeEeEe

Leave a Reply

