The Saving Mom Parents


Hide and Seek

Posted in Spiritual Relationship by The Saving Mom on June 12, 2011
Tags: , ,

This morning our older son begged to play hide and seek with his daddy.  The thing is that he wanted to play in our gated off living room.  Our living room only has about one hiding place (behind the couch).  But he was insistent.  So, while Daddy covered his eyes Yummy went and curled up next to the table or the couch or under my desk in the living room.  Let’s just say that Daddy could see him all along.  (And in fact his little brother was the one to “find” him every time.)  Daddy played with his son and pretended that he couldn’t see him.  Even Yummy knew that his Daddy could see him, but he had fun pretending.

As I watched this game happen I started to think about us and God.  How many of us play “hide and seek” with our Father?  And not as a game.  Sometimes, some of us actually believe that we can hide from God.  We curl up in a little ball and shut our eyes and pretend that He can’t see us.  I watched a movie on the Hallmark channel recently and one of the key phrases in it was about the ostrich “Don’t be like an ostrich because sticking your head in the sand to hide means that your big ‘ole butt is still sticking up in the air.”  This is the game we play with God.  And why do we hide from God?  We hide because things in our life aren’t going quite as planned.  And in reality we are trying to hide from the circumstances of our day.  Our Daddy God can always see us.  He laughs at our silliness and seeks after us with a  passion.  He really just wants to hold us close and show us a better path.

The reality is that God wants us to hide in Him, instead of us hiding from Him.  David had the right idea in Psalm 91:1-2 ( He that dwelleth in the secret place of the most High shall abide under the shadow of the Almighty.  I will say of the LORD, He is my refuge and my fortress: my God; in him will I trust. ), Psalm 32:7 (Thou art my hiding place; thou shalt preserve me from trouble; thou shalt compass me about with songs of deliverance. Selah.), Psalm 119:114 (Thou art my hiding place and my shield: I hope in thy word.).  He really is a safe place for us to run.  He really is a secure place for us to rest.  He really does offer protection and security.

Whenever I hear the words hiding place, it takes me back to one of my most favorite books as a child.  It is a true story written by Corrie Ten Boom and it called The Hiding Place.  This is her true story of being put in death camps with her family and how she found that although they tried to make other things in their lives the place to hide she discovered that the only real hiding place was in the cleft of THE ROCK.  If you have never read this book I really want to encourage you to get a copy and read it.  It may change your life.  I know that it will definitely encourage you to look into what or who you are hiding from and where you are hiding.  Are you hiding from the right things?  Are you hiding in the only safe place?  If you are living scared of something, fearful of your future, or ashamed of what’s going on please take a moment to re-evaluate what’s happening.  Turn to the Almighty and dive into His shadow.  Life is still going to happen.  Bad things are still going to happen.  This is reality.  But, when you are in Him you will be in a place of peace you have never experienced before.

Things to think on:  Where are you hiding today?  What are you teaching those around you about hiding?  Have you found your place of peace?

~Jessica

 

2 Responses to 'Hide and Seek'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Hide and Seek'.

  1. mags said,

    great! enjoyed it very much

  2. Dina said,

    hello! your comment on the post about my sweet newborn niece was the 1,000 comment on my blog…thank you! I’d love to send you one of my favorite cds as a thank you so would you mind emailing me your mailing address?

    rereading this makes me realize how much it sounds like an automated msg but I promise you, it’s for real! thanks for always stopping by the blog and letting your hello be heard! 🙂


Leave a Reply

