The Saving Mom Parents


A Man of His Word…(otherwise known as -HOW TO HAVE LESS STRESS-)

“Is it a deal?” I ask him.  “It’s a deal, Mom.” he responds.  This is what we do all the time.  And usually we both win.  I like when we both win.  I know life isn’t about winning.  I know that sometimes you lose, but why not make a winning situation whenever you can.

The thing is lately we’ve been having to go one step further.  We’ve been talking about being a man of his word.  This is one thing that I am so super blessed about because Yummy’s dad is an AWESOME example of being a man of his word.  Seriously, if the guy tells you he is going to do something he will.  (Although he does have a little bit of a clock issue so he might be 5 minutes late…his only caveat is arrival time -not bad.)  And he doesn’t have my problem either.  My problem -which I am seriously thinking about working on- is procrastination.  I often say I am going to do something and then I think about doing it.  I might even start doing it.  But somehow one thing drives out the other (as Butterbur says in Lord of The Rings).  I have LOTS of valid excuses as to why I don’t follow through…at least they are valid in my mind.  Most of the time I do actually do what I said I was going to do, but it’s usually rushed at the last minute (which means lower quality or super stressful) or running a bit late.

The thing is that I want my children to be people of their word.  And the only way to teach them to be that way is to be a person of my word.  And not a person who only does it at the last minute or late.  I want to set them up to succeed.  I want my children to be people other’s can count on.  Thankfully God provided them with a father who already excels in this area.  So, maybe it’s time that I start following his example too.  What I love about his example is that he is simply following the Lord’s example.  When I AM says something you can trust in it; rely on it and believe in it.  God is more than a ‘man of His word’…He is the Word.

I read this passage today and the faithfulness of God just struck me over and over again…

Romans 3:1-6
So what difference does it make who’s a Jew and who isn’t, who has been trained in God’s ways and who hasn’t? As it turns out, it makes a lot of difference—but not the difference so many have assumed. First, there’s the matter of being put in charge of writing down and caring for God’s revelation, these Holy Scriptures. So, what if, in the course of doing that, some of those Jews abandoned their post? God didn’t abandon them. Do you think their faithlessness cancels out his faithfulness? Not on your life! Depend on it: God keeps his word even when the whole world is lying through its teeth. Scripture says the same:

Your words stand fast and true;
Rejection doesn’t faze you.
But if our wrongdoing only underlines and confirms God’s rightdoing, shouldn’t we be commended for helping out? Since our bad words don’t even make a dent in his good words, isn’t it wrong of God to back us to the wall and hold us to our word? These questions come up. The answer to such questions is no, a most emphatic No! How else would things ever get straightened out if God didn’t do the straightening?

Often even when we can’t keep our word He keeps it for us.  Nothing we ever fail at will stop God from succeeding.  Our failures, shortcomings and lack do not stop God from doing what He has said He will do.  We can always rely on Him to follow through.  Best part is that He doesn’t stress out about it.  He knows us.  He knows when we aren’t going to get it done.  He knows and He fills in the gap.  Let’s talk about Jesus here for a moment.  We could NEVER make a way to the Father.  EVER.  We will always fall short on our own.  Jesus IS the way to the Father.  Jesus NEVER falls short.  We stand in right-standing before God because of Jesus.  Nothing we could ever do would even be enough for God to glance our way.  No matter how hard we try (and no matter how good my husband is at it), none of us are actually people of our word.  We all mess up.  We get caught up in the moment and lose sight of the end game.  But Jesus, He never loses sight.  He already made a way.  He brings us to a place where we can be in complete relationship with our Father.  When Jesus said “It is finished.” He meant that He had completed what He said He was going to do.  He redeemed us.  When we fail to fulfill the promises, the deals and the bargains we make with God, He isn’t counting us as coming up short.  He knew we wouldn’t come through.  So Jesus simply is MORE THAN ENOUGH.

To live our lives following His example this is our opportunity.  We have the opportunity to follow through on what we say.  We have the opportunity to be reliable.  We have the opportunity to be a true example of who He is.  We can become -a people of their word.  We have to make the choice to put others ahead of ourselves.  We have to decide that we will think through things before we commit to something and then put ourselves into making our commitments complete.

As we teach our sons to become men of their word I feel extremely blessed.  Between Jesus and their Daddy I don’t think there could be a better example.  I want to encourage you today to take a look at your life.  Is there an area that you need to work on following through with what you say?  Is there an area you could be more proactive about to make following through less stressful?  I know for me it’s procrastination.  So, feel free to encourage me or remind me next time I commit to something that I too can be a women of my word…a less stressed woman of my word.

~Jessica

2 Responses to 'A Man of His Word…(otherwise known as -HOW TO HAVE LESS STRESS-)'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'A Man of His Word…(otherwise known as -HOW TO HAVE LESS STRESS-)'.

  1. Amy Sullivan said,

    I really try to follow through with what I say, and I struggle when others don’t. However, I can think of two or three examples even this week where I lacked some serious follow through!

  2. JudiFree.com said,

    Great stuff Jess! I actually struggle with the same thing – great starter, horrible finisher. I have Acts 20:24 tattooed on my wrist for this purpose – to remind myself to run the race with endurance.


Leave a Reply

