The Saving Mom Parents


A window in time…

Absence makes the heart grow fonder….

You’ve been missing me, haven’t you?  And I have been missing writing.  Oh, I have tacked up a big list in my journal-list to write about, but putting fingers to keys has been another story.  Life around my house has been very busy as of late.  We had prep time before the in-laws came to visit followed by a fantastic visit and ending up needing a few days of R&R before life starts to feel normal again.  And my Squeaky One turned One year old last week.  I must say that this has been the fastest year of my life.  I am so learning to embrace and fully live in every joyful and not so joyful moment.  This is a WONDERFUL thing!

I thought I would use this post as a quick update on a few things I’ve talked about in the last several months.

#1 -Cloth Diapering (yes, it has been forever since I’ve mentioned it)  Anyway, I am still doing it and I love it.  Recently I was able to add to my stash which has made me feel “rich” in diapers.  Plus Yummy has stopped wearing diapers at night and now only wears fleece covers over his undies.  This makes for more covers and insert available.  I got his fleece covers from this Etsy Mom (Aliyahs Hope Chest) and we love them.   They have yet to leak and so there have been no changing of the sheets at night or any other time.  WONDERFUL!!!
Also, in regards to the soap nuts I use to wash the diapers in I have run across a few problems.  When I was using them in the summer I was also sunning my diapers and I did not have any problems with stains or smells.  Since it has been a bit too cold to sun over the last few months we started to notice that the diapers were smelling a bit even right after they came out of the dryer.  Then we noticed that Squeaky was getting diaper rash a bit.  I went to a cloth diaper store close to me Our Sweet Beginnings and talked with the owner, Michelle about it.  I was wanting to try a small or sample type of detergent to see if that was my problem.  She suggested I strip my diapers and also use Bac-Out from Biokleen.  I stripped my diapers and started using a wet pail with Bac-Out in it.  Now I have no more stinky diapers.  Woo-hoo!

#2 – The Gym.  I have been going two to three times a week during the month of February (except for the week in-laws were here).  I have been building up my endurance and am back in an acceptable range for what I want to accomplish when I am there.  My goal for March…get there 4-5 times a week.

#3 –One Thousand Gifts by Ann Voscamp FANTASTIC book.  I am a little behind in my reading (company will do that to you) and so am only on chapter six, but am knowing this is one of the best books I have ever read…and I’ve read a lot of books.  I feel like I can hardly wait to get to the end because I want to know it all and yet I want to go as slow as possible so I can savor every thought and idea.  This book truly is one of those great 5 course meals.  I want everyone I know to read it.  I know my perspective is changing for the better and better.

#4 -Family Mission Statement -Funny how I thought we were making progress, but aren’t done yet.  Actually, it is totally a God thing because I can see some of the stuff I am learning in Ann’s book coming into play here.  Good stuff I tell you!

#5 -No More Yelling -I am so happy I decided to do this.  If you haven’t read my original challenge on this one go here. I have struggled and had many ups and downs, but have seen a positive change in me and my kiddos.  The best part though is simply remembering that His mercies are new every morning.  I created a FB group and have been loved, supported and encouraged by many who have joined me in this.  And it’s been going so well that we have decided to continue our challenge for the year and add more challenges every month.  Since February was about eliminating a negative in March we’re going to work on adding a positive.  I’m calling it ‘Praise Three Ways’.  Watch for tomorrow’s post to read all about it and see if you want to join me too.

That’s it for tonight.  Sleep is calling me.  Looking forward to the wonderful month of March.  Blessings on you.
~Jessica

One Response to 'A window in time…'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'A window in time…'.

  1. Maggie said,

    I’m very proud of you in many ways


Leave a Reply

