The Saving Mom Parents


Baby Steps

God is so good.  God is so gracious.  He is more patient than the sweetest old lady.  He is more gentle than a mother with her newborn babe.  God is the ultimate teacher.

Sometimes God teaches us a lesson we grab onto it right away.  It’s like He just turns on a light-bulb and BAM! there’s light.  You understand just what He’s saying.  That’s when you are in the sweet zone.  You feel on top of the world.  You feel so close to God and like you have never been so in tune in your life.

Then there are those other times…the times when you are struggling to know if you are ever going to really hear what He is saying.  You think you understand how to do what He is saying and you trip and fall

Thankfully His loving outstretched arms are there if you need Him.  He picks you up and you try again.  And time after time you fall.  But He keeps supporting you.  He keeps clarifying for you the great plans He has for you and how to walk in them.  You listen and try again.  This time you make it a little farther and you fall flat on your face, but then you hear His encouragement and your heart gets filled with laughter and you begin to dance to His song. And the next thing you know you got it!  Messy, chaotic life cannot deter you.  You’ve fallen flat on your face and you might just be covered in snot and gunk and all the things that this world tries to throw at you, but now that you got it nothing can stop you.  You are going places.  You know what He wanted you to learn and now you can WALK!

I hope these little videos encourage you to try taking steps into what God is calling you to.  Allow yourself to step out.  You will only get where you want to go if you take that first step.  Sure you might fall.  Sure you might get up covered in gunk.  But once you can walk, well darling, the next thing is to fly.

~Jessica

5 Responses to 'Baby Steps'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Baby Steps'.


  1. This sounds familiar. This sounds like my own “walk” of faith (looks more like a stumble). The part about being covered in snot and gunk? Yeah, I so get that. 🙂


    • It’s so true isn’t it. I find myself so often completely covered in the yuckies when I am just trying to get from my point A to His point B.

  2. laura said,

    What a cutie-pie! I am definitely in that second category…SLLLOOWWW LEEAARRNERRRR…

    Sometimes God had to hit me in the head before I get it. One time, He broke my foot. Not kidding. Long story.

    Really enjoyed this, sweet friend!


    • Oh my, this sounds interesting. I sent you an e-mail. I gotta hear the story!

  3. L.L. Barkat said,

    I really love the idea of God being like the sweetest old lady. I’m going to take that into a poem someday; I just know it. 🙂


Leave a Reply

