The Saving Mom Parents


Waiting for it…

When yesterday was tough and you longed for your bed only to find that the rest you so desperately needed is not to be found there.  As the night continues and crying voices and tiny arms seem to suck every bit of strength you have left you long for just a moment to rest your head, but it is not to bed.  You arise to find that you must find a way to make it through the day.

Or perhaps the craziness of holiday traditions is sucking you dry.  Perhaps you’ve been in the kitchen for hours on end or shopping till your feet feel like they are going to fall off.  It could be that you have been climbing up and down ladders to hang lights that you forgot to check if they worked before yo put them up.

Your story might be a bit different from mine, but maybe just maybe you are in that place today.  The place where you are desperate for strength just to put one foot in front of the other.  You reach inside of yourself to find there is nothing left…no matter how deep you look.  We all come to this place…the place of the end of yourself.

When you get here there is only one place to turn…right into Him.  Matthew chapter 5 verse 3 reads (The Message) -You’re blessed when you’re at the end of your rope, with less of you there is more of God and His rule.

The only way to get to the strength we need is to stop and wait.  Because of late I have been feeling overwhelmed, worn out and exhausted I am digging into the meditations I go to find that which I am so desperate.

MUSIC – We all need music.  Somehow letting go and letting the rhythm, the melody and the words carry away some of the stress allows me to be more open to meditating.  This is one of my favorites.  Chris Tomlin singing Everlasting God

SCRIPTURE -Reading scripture is an important part of life, but memorizing key verses it the ultimate for me.  When things get rough I don’t always have that moment to sit down and read.  But if I carry the word written on my heart I can bring it to my mind and find strength.  Here are several of the ones I turn to when I need what is beyond me.

I pretty much just pray what you see below, minus the references and wait of God to build me up.  Sometimes I pray it all, sometimes just one verse.  And I trust that it’s what I needed.  One thing I must say is that I don’t usually feel suddenly like Superman that I can tackle everything, but I begin to feel a little lighter.  Things get a little clearer and from Him my help comes and I find that I have strength to go just that little bit farther.  In Him, I find all that I need.

Lord, it’s one of those days again.  I am completely at the end of me.  I have nothing left but worries and cares.  So, Lord, today I give them all to You because You care for me (1 Peter 5:7).  I thank you that I can do all things through Christ, because You strengthen me! (Phil. 4:13)  You are my refuge and strength, my present help in time of trouble (Psalm 46:1)  Lord, please give me Your power for I am weak.  Increase my strength for I have no might (Isaiah 40:29).  I know God that when I call on You, You answer me and give me strength in my soul. (Psalm 138:3)  I put my hope in You for You renew my strength, You give me wings like eagles.  Because of You I can run and not grow weary.  With Your strength I can walk and I will not faint. (Isaiah 40:31)  You have proven Yourself to me God and now I put my trust completely in You.  I wait on You God!  THANK YOU!!!

I would love to have your input on finding strength in the worn out moments life often gives us.  If you are having a weak day today I hope that you find encouragement in my tips.  Blessings on you my dear friends.

~Jessica

One Response to 'Waiting for it…'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Waiting for it…'.

  1. laura said,

    Thank you, Jessica. Music always does it for me. These are little bits of grace in the midst of craziness. Thank you.


Leave a Reply

