The Saving Mom Parents


I am a mom…this is what i do

Drip. Drip. Drip.  It all started with a leak…a leaky nose that is.  Well, actually it started before that, but I think I was too asleep to notice it.  One little teether will do that to you.  So, the little teether (Squeaky) had been put back to sleep after needing mommy and now Yummy was awake and desperately wanting Mommy.  (This should have been a sign as he almost never wakes up after he is down for the night.)  Daddy brought him to the couch to “sleep” with Mama while Daddy watched TV, but it wasn’t really working.  He kept playing and sliding off, but I was way to out of it to do anything about it.  Finally Daddy sent us all to our real beds.

Just a few hours later Yummy joined Mommy in bed and actually fell right asleep. (This should have been another sign as he only falls asleep in Mommy and Daddy’s bed when something isn’t right with him.)  He also stayed asleep longer than Squeaky which is not the norm.  And with his rising the dripping arrived.

Just Friday I read this blog about a simple home remedy for a cold of honey and cinnamon.  When my babies aren’t well my heart hurts and I am willing to do just about anything to make them feel better.  So, this remedy was the first step of my Get Well Yummy plan.  He was delighted to have something so tasty to start his day with.

The remedy was followed by apple spice pancakes and a spread of vapor rub on his feet and chest.  Then my goal became liquid, liquid, liquid.  I told Hubs that I was going to do for Yummy whatever I would have done had it been one of us who was sick.  So, to the grocery store I went.  Thankfully all the things I needed were on sale this week which meant I arrived home with OJ, chicken quarters and tissue paper.

Chicken went into a pot for homemade chicken soup.  OJ got watered down with hot water and Yummy got lots of extra snuggles and prayers.  Turns out it was one of my better batches of soup and even Squeaky delightedly enjoyed the softened vegetables and bits of meat he was given.

Dinner was followed by a warm bath for Yummy and another rub down of vapor rub.  He also received a dose of the red liquid to help with the heat that was spread across his body.  Then stories and prayers and another snuggle.

This is what I do.  I care for my little brood.  I pray for them, cook for them, cuddle them and support them.  I take note of temperatures, kiss owies, sing lullabies in the middle of the night and love.  I get tired, overwhelmed, worn out and somehow find the energy to do it all over again.  I am mom…this is what I do.  And every moment of everyday I thank God for a man who stands besides and does it all with me.  I am one BLESSED woman.  I am mom…and this, this is what I WANT to do.

Fill you in later on how all the home remedies are working.

~Jessica

One Response to 'I am a mom…this is what i do'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'I am a mom…this is what i do'.

  1. another mom said,

    Your “way ” with words perfectly nailed it in one BLESSED nutshell.. you ARE a wonderful mommy…with a heart of your FATHER!! Love and prayers coming to you


Leave a Reply

