The Saving Mom Parents


All tied up

Posted in LIFE,RELATIONSHIPS,Spiritual Relationship by The Saving Mom on September 8, 2010
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Thinking a lot about relationships lately.  Most really do come and go with the seasons of life.  And some stay with you forever.  If you let them, each one can create  memories and become a part of you that will stay with you throughout your lifetime.

I love the way The Message Bible states Hebrews 13:1  – Stay on good terms with each other, held together by love.  I was thinking about what that meant…especially the held together by love part.  What does that really mean to be held together by love?  I think it means that love stops us from doing or saying things that would break apart a relationship.  I think it means that we choose to be a prisoner of love.  Every action we take is bound by love and can only act out of love.

I’m not really talking about romantic love here.  I am talking about divine, unconditional, self-sacrificing, active, volitional, and thoughtful love.  Otherwise known as agape love.  This is the love that allows you to build a relationship without fear.  It allows you to be the sort of person others want a relationship with.  You are trustworthy and dependable.  You take relationships seriously.  This doesn’t mean you devote all your time and attention to one relationship.  It does mean that you don’t build walls.  It can be said that you have a purposeful response to promote good when responding to that which has generated ill-will.  It also means that those things to which you have committed yourself to, you will follow through on.

I was thinking about what kind of friend I am.  Am I one who allows my relationships to be held together by love or do I just let my relationships fall apart with the slightest breeze?  I happen to have a pretty small circle of friends in my life, but there are many who I rarely see and yet am still bound to.  I am there for them through thick and thin.  I pray for them and hope for them and believe for them to see all that God has for them.  They can trust me.  These are the friends I carry in my heart.

But what about the other people.  The ones that I am too busy with my own life to notice that God has put them into my path to love.  I believe that God wants us to live with our eyes open.  To not just glance around our life, to not just look beyond the moment, but to really see into right where we are at.  To really be aware of what is in front of us.  The God moments that are happening all around us.

If we really lived with our eyes open what would change about us?  Would we start to look at others differently?  Would we reach out to others more?  Would we speak more kindly of those that come across our path?  What would we have to do to stay on good terms with all of those around us?  Are there things we can do to get tied together with love?  Not just those people that we consider our “friends”, but those people that just step into our path for a brief moment.  Is it really possible to fully live a life of love?

Perhaps there is a relationship waiting down the street for you.  Perhaps Facebook or someone you meet through a blog will be just the person God wants you to be on good terms with.  Maybe today is the beginning of healing for old wounds with a family member.  You might just save the life of a friend.  We cannot know our future except that God holds us in the palm of His hand and turns us towards the fulfillment of His plan for us.  For me, it is a day to surrender to love.

And so I pray –

Dear Lord –  I want to see the way You see.  For too long I have been limited by my vision alone.  I really need to lean on you in order to learn how to really love.  I ask Lord that You would tie up my words and actions with love.  I ask to be a made a prisoner to following Your word.  Have Your way in my relationships.  Help me to speak words that will build others up, not tear them down.  My heart’s desire is to be on good terms with everyone that You have put into my path.  Help me to be humble enough to admit that I have caused pain and grief and help me to bring the balm to heal those hurts.  Once again, I submit myself to Your gentle hand which teaches me to love on purpose.  As I would mold a ball of clay, I give myself to You to be molded.  I trust You that I am becoming all You desire me to be.  I am Yours Lord.  Lead me into love.  Amen

And for you my dear readers thank you.  I look forward to staying on good terms with you as we are held together by love…this wonderful, magnificent agape love.

~Jessica

3 Responses to 'All tied up'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'All tied up'.

  1. Carolyn Rose Corcoran said,

    This is great, Jess. You are really cool. It’s amazing because I have been trying to meditate on this agape love lately, and I can see in many ways it has affected my relationships at work especially. I love you.

  2. Carolyn Rose Corcoran said,

    Also, I am sorry I harass you about your blogging all the time. I really do think that it is awesome. I’m not exactly sure why I harass you about it, but I hope you know I respect your interests a lot, and I think it is cool that you are so into it. You are right, who knows who will be affected by your love.

  3. Tahnee said,

    Miss you Jess xxxx


Leave a Reply

