The Saving Mom Parents


A parrot and pesky little words

Posted in LIFE,Training Children by The Saving Mom on August 27, 2010
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

I am thinking so much about the words of my mouth or my pen keyboard right now.  Brought my mind back to high school…weird I know.  Being on Facebook often makes me feel like high school though.  Don’t you think that sometimes?  I’m sure in high school I was seen as a brown nosed goody two shoes, (maybe I still am) but I definitely had my moments that required some sort of punishment.

One particular instance I have to be honest I cannot even remember what we (my whole class…like 3 or 4 boys and myself) did.  I know we must have used our words to hurt someone.  This I know because of the punishment.  It has stuck with me all these years and I know it’s something I will never forget.  We had to write out Ephesians 4:29 over and over.

Ephesians 4:29 reads – Let no foul or polluting language, nor evil word nor unwholesome or worthless talk [ever] come out of your mouth, but only such [speech] as is good and beneficial to the spiritual progress of others, as is fitting to the need and the occasion, that it may be a blessing and give grace (God’s favor) to those who hear it. (Amplified)

As a person this is a such an important concept to grab a hold of.  It can change your whole life by following it.  Relationships will be deeper and truer.  Experiences will be richer and fuller and life will simply be more fun.  The thing is as a parent I think there is almost nothing more important you can teach your children about what type of person they can be.

What you as a parent say today, is the thing that your child will be repeating tomorrow.  Children can be pesky parrots.  Words are so powerful.  You can use them to build up or tear down.  You can change atmosphere with your words…or lack of them too.  You can create a child with filled with hope or promise, ready to tackle anything that comes their way or you can create a child worn down, bruised with a victim mentality heading into life ready to be crushed even more and knowing only how to crush others.  You can create a marriage that has excitement waiting around every twist in the road and a spouse who will back you up and stand by your side through thick and thin or you can create a marriage that is filled with holes, spouses that seek fulfillment in others or other things and no one to cling to when the road gets rough.  You have the power of words and you have the power to change how you use your words.

Today would be a great day to examine yourself.  How do you speak to those you love?  How do your speak to those you dislike?  How do you speak to yourself?  And how do you speak or write about others or things?  Have you ever caught yourself mid-word and halted?  Have you ever wished you had?  have you ever said angry or hurtful things to your children or spouse and later had to go back and apologize?  Have you ever pulled your child out of the dumps by offering them praise or comforted your spouse with gentle and soothing words?

Words can be great to give a second chance.  Words can create excitement about life.  Words can encourage someone to follow their dreams.

47 years ago tomorrow a man used his to create an atmosphere that encouraged others to look again at life in a new way!    He used his words to change mindsets and build people up.  His words still ring true today…

EXCERPT –

I say to you today, my friends, that in spite of the difficulties and frustrations of the moment, I still have a dream.  It is a dream deeply rooted in the American dream.   have a dream that one day this nation will rise up and live out the true meaning of its creed: “We hold these truths to be self-evident: that all men are created equal.” I have a dream that one day on the red hills of Georgia the sons of former slaves and the sons of former slave owners will be able to sit down together at a table of brotherhood. I have a dream that one day even the state of Mississippi, a desert state, sweltering with the heat of injustice and oppression, will be transformed into an oasis of freedom and justice. I have a dream that my four children will one day live in a nation where they will not be judged by the color of their skin but by the content of their character. I have a dream today.

….

I have a dream that one day every valley shall be exalted, every hill and mountain shall be made low, the rough places will be made plain, and the crooked places will be made straight, and the glory of the Lord shall be revealed, and all flesh shall see it together.

…….

When we let freedom ring, when we let it ring from every village and every hamlet, from every state and every city, we will be able to speed up that day when all of God’s children, black men and white men, Jews and Gentiles, Protestants and Catholics, will be able to join hands and sing in the words of the old Negro spiritual, “Free at last! free at last! thank God Almighty, we are free at last!”

This man was Martin Luther King JR.  He lived a dream.  He spoke a dream.  He left a legacy that built others up.

It’s not just your children that are your parrots.  You can speak or write words that will inspire others to follow your example.  You can cause others to be encouraged to try to live a life of honor.  By what you do and say you create or destroy.  I know I want my legacy to be a legacy of creation.  I want my children and my children’s children to live a legacy of love.  That their words would be used to bless others always…simply because of how I use my words.

I encourage you today to be conscious of what you say.  Listen to your words and your tone of voice.  Be aware of how you compose what you write.  BUILD OTHERS UP.  SHARE YOUR DREAM THAT YOU ENCOURAGE OTHERS TO DREAM.  SPEAK LIFE AND LIFE ABUNDANTLY.  RESTORE HONOR TO YOUR LIFE AND THE LIVES OF THOSE AROUND YOU BY THE WAY YOU LIVE LIFE.

I pray that my words to you today build you up and encourage you that we all can choose to speak life or death.  By choosing words of life we build dreams that will never die!

~Jessica

3 Responses to 'A parrot and pesky little words'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'A parrot and pesky little words'.


  1. Great post. I really enjoyed it

  2. Amy Sullivan said,

    Just bounced over from HCB!

    Pesky parrots? I love it 🙂 Too often something is out of my mouth before I’ve realized I’ve even said it.

  3. Amy Sullivan said,

    Jessica,

    Feel free to link away! Thanks for making time to stop for a visit. I look forward to reading more from you.


Leave a Reply

