The Saving Mom Parents


Do-Over…the morning routine

Posted in General,Spiritual Relationship by The Saving Mom on August 23, 2010
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

I can tell I had a rough night last night because of the way my arms feel this morning.  Achy…tired…and sore.  Today I wanted to wakeup joyful and happy.  I wanted to know that it was going to be a good day.  Mr. Yummy wanted to wake up around 5:30AM.  To be truthful I am a morning person and early wake-ups are not usually a problem for me…except when I’ve had a rough night.  And so today I began my day complaining about how I didn’t want to wake up complaining.  Oxy-moron I know.

There are many mornings that I have to remind my little early riser that today is the day that the Lord has made and we will rejoice and be glad in it.  Apparently, I needed to remind myself of that this morning. I was determined not to fall into that complaining rut for long.  Pick yourself up by the bootstraps they say.  And so I did.  I turned to a friend for some words of advice and found this morning’s illusive joy!

I chose to hold back words of anger and frustration and replaced them with words of peace and joy.  Those angry words drifted away.  My mind has been renewed.  Yummy and I ate some living food and are celebrating that this is the day that the Lord has made.

Now I am looking on my day with wonder and excitement.  What does my Father have to show me today?  What can I see if I open my two eyes wide and what can I hear if I listen for the whisper?

Certainly I have a pile of diapers sitting in the clothes basket waiting to be put away.  Be assured that I have several more loads of  dirty laundry that are calling my name.  Without a doubt the dishwasher is full of clean dishes waiting to be emptied and reloaded.  Don’t even imagine that there aren’t toys to be put away, floors that need to be vacuumed and scrubbed, toilets that need cleaning or weight that needs to be lost.  The thing is that all these things amount to a pile of beans compared to what else awaits me.  A somewhat elusive smile that peeks out of a little boy because Mommy cheers him on as he builds his tallest tower yet.  A deep chuckle coming from the belly of another boy who is just learning to make his way around the room.  A butterfly that is still hanging about even though the days have begun to cool just a tad.  And more than anything else the words that will give me strength and encouragement as I navigate this day.  Words from one who loves me more than I can imagine.  My Father is full of surprises and I am ready to be delighted by what I will find.

Don’t forget that every once in a while you need to start again.  It’s okay to have a do-over.  May you find today that a routine filled with the aroma of love is all you need to take another step closer to all that He holds for you!

~Jessica

2 Responses to 'Do-Over…the morning routine'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Do-Over…the morning routine'.

  1. Dena Dyer said,

    What a great reminder! Thanks for your thoughts about do-overs. I need them regularly! 🙂 Glad to “meet” you through High Calling Blogs. I look forward to seeing you around the network!

  2. Small Canvas said,

    I wish I didn’t need reminded of that every single day, but I’m so glad there are people like you out there who are reminding us of what really matters. Thank you.


Leave a Reply

